Newly Elected Carlsbad Officials Sworn In


The City of Carlsbad held a swearing in ceremony for its newly elected officials Tuesday, welcoming two newcomers in the city’s first City Council election by district. The election results, which were certified by the County of San Diego Registrar of Voters on Dec. 6, 2018, are as follows:

Matt Hall was re-elected Mayor for a four-year term
Barbara Hamilton was elected District 1 City Council member for a four-year term
Priya Bhat-Patel was elected District 3 City Council member for a four-year term
Barbara Engleson was re-elected City Clerk for a four-year term
Craig Lindholm was re-elected City Treasurer for a four-year term

About 78 percent of the city’s 73,887 registered voters participated in the Nov. 6 Election.

The City of Carlsbad is changing from an “at-large” method of electing City Council members to one where the city is split into four districts, and voters in each district elect one City Council member. The change is being phased in, with district’s one and three up for election in 2018 and two and four up in 2020. The mayor continues to be elected “at large” or citywide.

Read bios on elected officials


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here