Rebecca Jones Sworn in as San Marcos’ 14th Mayor


San Marcos’ 14th mayor, Rebecca Jones, took the oath of office tonight during the San Marcos City Council meeting.

Mayor Jones was first elected to her first full term on the San Marcos City Council in November 2008. She had been serving on the City Council since January 2007 after being appointed to a vacated Council seat. She was re-elected in 2012, and again in 2016.

“As North County’s education hub and safest city, San Marcos is a rising star,” said Mayor Jones. “With tremendous success, comes new challenges—I’m all about the solutions and ready to work collaboratively so that generations to come will be afforded the same opportunities to thrive right here in San Marcos.”

In addition to the Mayor, Council Members María Nuñez and Randy Walton were sworn in as the City’s first district elected representatives by Districts 1 and 2, respectively, to mark the start of their four-year terms. The San Marcos City Council voluntarily adopted district-based voting in September 2016.

Outgoing Mayor Jim Desmond was formally recognized for 14 years of service on the San Marcos City Council. Outgoing Council Members Chris Orlando, with 12 years of service to the San Marcos City Council, and Kristal Jabara, with eight years of service, were also formally recognized.

Mayor Jones previously held an at-large council seat, which is now vacant. The at-large vacancy will be filled by appointment or special election as directed by the city council.

For more information about the San Marcos City Council, visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here