This Is Jazz! and Opera Previews Start Sept 30th


The City of Carlsbad Cultural Arts Office is hosting fall seasons of This Is Jazz! and Opera Previews at the Ruby G. Schulman Auditorium in the Carlsbad City Library complex, located at 1775 Dove Lane. Seating is limited and first come, first served. Admission is free.

At a Glance

A four-part lecture and performance series, This Is Jazz! covers an array of subjects on American jazz with live demonstrations by musical guests, and discussions between artists and the audience. This Is Jazz! brings on-air host and program curator Claudia Russell from San Diego’s award-winning radio station, KSDS Jazz 88.3, together with some of Southern California’s finest musicians. The series takes place Saturdays at 4 p.m. Tickets are distributed at 3 p.m., and doors open at 3:45 p.m.

Sept. 30 Young Lions
Featuring students of the Young Lions Jazz Conservatory in San Diego. Under the direction of trumpeter Gilbert Castellanos.
Nov. 4 New Jazz Groove
Features vocalist/guitarist/composer Steph Johnson.
Dec. 9 The Gospel Truth
Features vocalist/pianist Yves Evans.

Opera Previews features photos, videos and recordings to enhance musicologist Dr. Ron Shaheen’s lighthearted, jargon-free insights on the music, history, fabled performances and special attributes of San Diego Opera Productions. Whether you are a die-hard opera fan or just a curious newcomer to this art form, these events will provide you with insight and an entertaining perspective on these upcoming productions. The series takes place Saturdays at 10 a.m. Doors open at 9:45 a.m.

Below is the fall lineup.
Oct. 14 Pirates of Penzance by Gilbert & Sullivan
Jan. 27 Maria de Buenos Aires by by Ástor Piazzolla
Feb. 24 Turandot by Giacomo Puccini
March 17 Florencia en el Amazonas Daniel Catán

More information
This Is Jazz! and Opera Previews are made possible by the Carlsbad Library and Arts Foundation’s Robert H. Gartner Cultural Endowment Fund. For more information, contact Megan Gilby at 760-602-2081 or


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here