CSUSM Earns Fourth Place in 2018 CCAA Commissioner’s Cup


HAYWARD, Calif. – In Cal State San Marcos’ first year of being a full-fledged NCAA Division II member, the Department of Athletics is pleased to announce a fourth place finish in the 2018 California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Robert J. Hiegert Commissioner’s Cup, the conference announced Wednesday.

The award, named in honor of former long-time Commissioner and CCAA Hall of Famer, Robert J. Hiegert, is given to the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) member institution with the highest aggregate ranking in eight of the CCAA’s 13 championship sports.

“This is a huge honor for us in our first year of official CCAA and NCAA membership,” said CSUSM Director of Athletics Jennifer Milo. “Our goal as a department was to immediately compete athletically in our first year. This fourth place finish proves we accomplished that goal. I am very proud of our student-athletes and coaches.”

The CSUSM women’s golf team brought home the university’s first conference championship, while the women’s cross country team clinched runner-up honors at the CCAA Championships last fall.

CSUSM nabbed three other top five finishes in the regular season as volleyball took third, men’s basketball tied for third and women’s soccer finished fifth in the CCAA standings.

The Cougars trumped both of the two most recent schools to join the CCAA. Cal State Monterey Bay became eligible in 2007-08 season and Cal State East Bay in 2009-10. Both schools finished in last place in the standings in their first year.

An institution’s Hiegert Cup ranking is calculated using its top two Conference finishes in the fall, winter, and spring sports seasons, as well as the next two highest finishes, regardless of season. The specific number points garnered per sport is determined by the number of institutions that sponsor the sport.

2017-18 Robert J. Hiegert Commissioner’s Cup Standings
Rank Institution Points
1 Chico State 99.50
2 UC San Diego 96.08
3 Cal Poly Pomona 87.74
4 Cal State San Marcos 75.21
5 Cal State LA 68.99
6 Sonoma State 68.00
7 Cal State San Bernardino 62.51
8 San Francisco State 60.99
9 Stanislaus State 57.96
10 Cal State Dominguez Hills 51.45
11 Humboldt State 48.51
12 Cal State Monterey Bay 46.80
13 Cal State East Bay 45.91

Past Robert J. Hiegert Commissioner’s Cup Winners
2005-06 UC San Diego
2006-07 UC San Diego
2007-08 UC San Diego
2008-09 UC San Diego
2009-10 UC San Diego
2010-11 Chico State
2011-12 Chico State
2012-13 Chico State
2013-14 Chico State
2014-15 Cal Poly Pomona
2015-16 UC San Diego
2016-17 UC San Diego
2017-18 Chico State


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here